Heanor’s Ryan Colson enjoyed the best weekend of his three-year British Truck Racing career with two wins and two second places, from four races, on the second day of the meeting at his local Donington circuit.

It was not a great start to his weekend as brake failures to his Foden Alpha forced Colson out of both of Saturday’s two Class B races, won by Trevor Martin’s Scania. Ryan Smith (MAN) and Stuart Oliver (Volvo) won the Class A races before both classes combined for Sunday’s four epic battles.

Colson made a great start, in Sunday’s opener, to jump to second in class, behind Adam Bint’s Volvo which then suffered a boost-pipe failure, leaving Colson at the head of the class. He went on to win from Andrew Lovenbury (Renault). Lovenbury was quick all day and he and Colson were soon battling for the class lead in Sunday’s second race. Colson briefly snatched the lead, braking late into the chicane in the closing stages, but lost momentum fighting to keep control through the second part of the bend and Lovenbury took the win by 1 second, with the pair 3.5 seconds clear of the rest.

Bint put his boost-pipe woes behind him to win the next from Colson, but the Heanor haulier completed his great day in the non-championship reverse-grid Grand Final to work through the field and take a comfortable class win ahead of John Powell’s Ford.

Mansfield’s Ryan Smith (MAN) extended his Class A championship lead to 13 points over his rival Stuart Oliver (Volvo) as they clashed a number of times while scoring two wins apiece. Smith helped his title bid by also picking up a couple of podium finishes. Dave Jenkins (MAN) was the other championship race winner but it was a mixed weekend for reigning champion Mat Summerfield.

The Burton-on-Trent trucker was collected by Steve Thomas as he fought for control at the Old Hairpin on lap 2 of Sunday’s opener. Both MAN’s were forced into retirement. Summerfield later recovered to take a couple of championship podiums before outright victory in the Grand Final, a close fought victory over Jenkins and Oliver.

Chesterfield’s James Card extended his lead in the Kumho BMW Championship with victory in the opening race. Card’s lead, from pole, was never in danger as he and Roger Lavender pulled well clear of the chasing bunch. Lavender took fastest lap on the final tour to close to within one second at the flag. “We’ve got the car set up well and it suits most tracks,” said Card afterwards but that didn’t stop James McIntyre-Ure snatching the lead at the start of race two. Card spent 14 laps searching for way through and finally got ahead on the run to the first turn of lap 15, just as Guiseppe Callari rolled his E36 at the chicane. The race was red-flagged and McIntyre–Ure was awarded victory, on count-back, as he crossed the line 0.049 seconds ahead after 14 laps.

Former BTCC racer Lea Wood led much of the opening Pickup Truck Racing Championship race before series leader Freddie Lee and reigning champion Michael Smith slipped through, Lee 1.6 seconds ahead at the flag. Wood slipped to seventh but fared better in race two, taking second place behind Mark Willis.

John Paterson picked up four wins from six Legends’ races, in a guest drive alongside team leader, reigning champion John Mickel. Mickel took one victory and the pair were again fighting for the lead in the final race when they were involved in a four-car shunt at the chicane handing victory to David Hunter.