12 August 2017

Ryan Savage and his Lotus 2-eleven proved too strong for the Lotus Cup & Elise Trophy field in the MSVR meeting at Donington Park. Only the Exige V6s of Simon Atkinson and David McInulty were still on the lead lap at the finish of race 1, but all eyes were on the duel at the head of the Elise Trophy class.

Elise series leader Will Stacey led early from Craig Denman before Denman slipped through at the chicane. They continued to trade places on almost every lap right to the flag, further complicated as they caught the fourth-placed Cup class Exige of Bob Drummond. Drummond held on to his 4th place overall while 5th-placed Denman took class honours by 1 second from Stacey with Jason McInulty 17 seconds adrift in third.

Savage made his way up to second  after one lap of the reverse-grid race 2, before a brief safety car intervention. He then passed David McInulty as racing resumed and was 9 seconds clear at the flag, while Drummond claimed third place.

Will Stacey quickly headed the Elise class, although it was six laps until he was joined by Denman and two more before Denman took the lead. The pair were never more than 0.1 seconds apart and Stacey regained the lead on lap 13, but Denman passed again into Redgate on lap 16. This time it stuck and his winning advantage was 0.12 seconds. Jason McInulty again took third in class.

Jerome de Sadeleer maintained his championship lead in the Radical SR1 Cup, the UK’s fastest entry-level series. The Swiss driver took second from Rob Courtneige at the first turn and repeated the move on leader James Pinkerton at the restart following a safety car period. As the pair pulled away de Sadeleer resisted the pressure from Pinkerton to hold on for victory by 0.121 seconds. Andrew Ritchie took advantage of non-finishes by Courtneige and David Thompson to take third place.

De Sadeleer again passed Courtneige on the opening lap of race 2 but Pinkerton held his nerve after another safety car period and kept the lead at the restart. Eventually Pinkerton pulled away for a comfortable maiden victory by 6.5 seconds from de Sadeleer with Courtneige taking third.

Phil Jenkins (Caterham R300) snatched the lead from pole-sitter Jonathan Mitchell after yet another safety car period in the Toyo Tires 7 Race Series. While Jenkins won by 3 seconds from Steve Day, the battle for third had a blanket finish with Gary Weatherill getting the nod from Chris Lay, Mitchell and Gary Bate, less than half a second covering the four cars. Jenkins went on the complete a double from Day and Lay whileLucy Redding and Mark Johnson took Caterham Supersports class honours.

Lee Gillard completed a Nippon Challenge/Tricolore Trophy double in his Subaru Impreza. James Janicki recovered from a poor start in his Nissan Skyline to close to within half a second in race 1 with Rich Hockley (Honda Civic) over 16 seconds away in third. With Janicki sidelined after one lap of race 2, Hockley followed Gillard home with Rob Horsfield’s Toyota MR2 in third. Tony Hunter and Mick Gwinnett (both Renault Clios) took the wins in the Tricolore Trophy class.

The MSVT Trackday Trophy provides an opportunity for drivers with trackday cars to go racing on a limited budget. This is a series of stand-alone races, not a championship, so drivers can choose when and where to race without a season’s commitment. The 45 minute races, with pitstops, are ideal for teams of two drivers, to share the cost, or solo drivers.

The Lawrence Davey/Toby Hotston Mini Cooper got the jump on the pole-sitting BMW E36 of Steve Hewson and Matt Nossiter. They held the lead after an early safety car period but Nossiter found his way past a lap later. Further back the Clios of Neil House/Andy Tate and James Clink had moved to the head of the Class C field after Ray Worley locked up going through the chicane in his Mazda MX5. When the safety car came out again, the two Clios were ideally place to dive straight in for their stops and both rejoined at the back of the lead lap with Clink ahead.

This was timely move as the Clios found themselves at the head of the field as the rest of the pack dived into the pits. Clink made the best of the restart and early traffic before the House/Tate Clio began to reduce the gap. With 7 minutes on the clock the red flag brought an early end to proceedings, Clink 1.5 seconds ahead of House and Tate. Hewson and Nossiter had to settle for the Class B win, third overall, with Keith Issatt taking fourth place in his Mini Cooper.